Birth Certificates

//Birth Certificates
Birth Certificates 2018-10-19T14:04:44+00:00
By Phone
By Mail
In Person

Requests are processed the SAME DAY that we receive them.  If you are able to come in to our office, your request will be processed while you wait.  Birth certificates purchased through our office are only $24.00.  If you would like to make your request by mail or phone, we will process your order the day we receive the request.  There is a $1.00 service fee for mail and phone orders.  If greater urgency is an issue, we can provide overnight deliver.  You will be charged the $24.00 for the certificate plus the cost of overnight delivery.

EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 2014, WE WILL BE CHARGING A $1.00 SERVICE FEE ON ALL PHONE AND MAIL ORDERS THAT ARE TO BE DELIVERED FIRST-CLASS STANDARD MAIL.  UPS CHARGES APPLY FOR OVERNIGHT DELIVERY.  THERE IS NO ADDITIONAL FEES FOR WALK-IN COUNTER SERVICE.

THINGS TO REMEMBER:

  • Ohio is an “open record” state, and vital records (births and deaths) are considered to be public records by the State of Ohio. This means that anyone who can submit the basic facts of a certificate may request a copy of it.
  • The certificate issued by the hospital is NOT an official, certified birth certificate.
  • Uncertified copies are NO LONGER ISSUED.
  • Affidavits for correction and Acknowledgements of Paternity may be filed in our office.
  • Records brought into this office cannot be stamped, sealed or copied.
  • Marriage and divorce decrees are available at Probate Court, 330-725-9703.
  • New Adoptions Law: The law has changed regarding records of adoptions that were finalized between January 1, 1964, and September 18, 1996.  Those whose adoptions were finalized between January 1, 1964 to September 19, 1996 are now able to gain access to their adoption file and original birth record from the Ohio Department of Health. Beginning March 20, 2015, adult adoptees may submit an application to the Ohio Department of Health for a copy of their adoption file.  The adult lineal descendants (children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren of the adoptee) may also submit an application for a copy of the adoption file.  Information and forms are available on the Ohio Department of Health’s website.  Forms are also available at our office, and we would be happy to notarize the forms for you. The Medina County Health Department is able to issue birth certificates for anyone born in the State of Ohio regardless of what county you were born in!

Birth certificates are available three ways:

BY PHONE

When you call, you will need to know the name (at the time of birth) of the person you need a certificate for and their date of birth.  The cost is $24.00 per certificate plus a $1.00 mail service fee payable by MasterCard, VISA, Discover, and Diners Club credit cards.

Medina 330-723-9511
Toll free 888-723-9688
Fax 330-723-9659
Office Hours:  Monday-Friday
8 am-4:30 pm

BY MAIL

Please send a letter stating the name at birth of the person you need a certificate for, the date of birth, the number of certificates you would like sent to you, and a daytime phone number where you can be reached, or you may fill out this form.  The cost is $24.00 per certificate plus a $1.00 mail service fee payable by check or money order made out to “MCHD”.

Medina County Health Department
ATTN:  Vitals
4800 Ledgewood Drive
Medina, OH  44256

IN PERSON

When you come in to our office, you will need to know the name (at the time of birth) of the person you need a certificate for and their date of birth.  The cost is $24.00 per certificate payable by cash, check or money order (made payable to “MCHD”), or VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and Diners Club credit cards.  There is no additional fee for walk-in counter service.  To ensure that you are able to walk out with your certificate the same day that you walk in, please try to arrive at the office at least 15 minutes before closing.

Medina County Health Department
4800 Ledgewood Drive
Medina, OH  44256

Establishing Paternity

If a father is named on your child’s birth certificate, the only way to remove or change him is through a local Child Support Enforcement Agency (CSEA) (click here for Job and Family Services) or juvenile court. If paternity testing is done through CSEA, the person who is deemed to be the father will automatically be put on your child’s birth certificate and a new certificate will be issued. Your child’s name can be changed at this time free of charge. If there is no father on your child’s birth certificate, and paternity is not contested, you and your child’s father can come into our office and fill out a paternity affidavit. We will submit the affidavit and a new birth certificate will be generated. At this time, your child’s name can legally be changed. The paternity affidavit and/or name change is free of charge. This process can take up to a year before a new birth certificate is ready, depending on the circumstances.

If you have any questions, please feel free to give our office a call at 330-723-9511.

Watch a video about establishing paternity here.